# LEE COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS & REGISTRATION Minutes of the April 21, 2025 Board Meeting

The Lee County Board of Elections & Registration held a meeting on April 21, 2025 at 5:00 p.m. in the Elections & Registration Office. Board members present were Mike Sabot, Charles Johnson, Willie Allen, and Scott Beeley. George Houston was unable to attend.

Also in attendance was Veronica Johnson, Director of Elections and Registration.

The meeting was called to order.

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

The Board was presented with the minutes from the March 21, 2025 meeting. Mr. Beeley made a **MOTION** to approve the minutes. Mr. Allen seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

#### **OLD BUSINESS:**

The Board was presented with results from the April 15, 2025 Leesburg Special Runoff to fill the vacancy for Post 3, following the resignation of Richard Bush. Mr. Allen made a **MOTION** to certify the results as true and accurate. Mr. Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

Charles Fairbrother 59 Mark Smith 45

The Board was reminded of the upcoming training classes April 28 – May 2, 2025 in Paulding County. Mrs. Johnson and office staff plan to attend.

The Board discussed the upcoming statewide Special Primary to be held for two Public Service Commission seats June 17, 2025. Logic and Accuracy Testing will be held May 8, 2025. Poll worker training classes are scheduled for May 12, 13, and 14, 2025. Advance-in-Person voting begins May 27, 2025. Certification of results is scheduled for June 23, 2025 at 5:00 pm.

The Board was updated on the FYE2026 proposed budget. The County Manager and Finance Director's recommendations are concerning in a couple of areas. Mrs. Johnson will ask for a budget hearing with the county commission.

### **NEW BUSINESS:**

Current financial statements were presented to the Board for review.

## **CONCERNS FROM THE BOARD:**

None

## **PUBLIC COMMENT:**

None

With no other business, Mr. Sabot made a <u>MOTION</u> to adjourn. Mr. Beeley seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

Lee County Board of Elections and Registration

Adopted 6/10/2005

MIKE SABOT CHAIRMAN