The Development Services Department is responsible for developing and administering many facets of land use and quality of life regulations in both the unincorporated and incorporated areas of the county.

This department serves as the first point of contact for residents and developers seeking assistance with land development, flood plain management, soil and erosion control standards, storm water management, and utility construction.

In addition, this department advises and assists the county-wide Planning Commission, the Board of County Commissioners, and the Leesburg and Smithville city councils with decisions relating to growth management issues, development review and approval, site planning, and amendments to or variances from the following ordinances: Land Development, Erosion & Sedimentation, and Flood Plain.

This department is also responsible for a variety of special projects, ranging from storm water drainage studies, watershed management, flood plain re-mapping, and Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST) road paving. The Development Services Department also generates revenue from permit fees.

Planning Department
Stormwater Management Department
Planning Commission
Forms & Applications

Planning & Development Permit Fees

Contact Information
Rozanne Braswell, AICP
Planning, Zoning & Engineering Director

Phone: (229) 759-6000
Fax: (229) 759-6032

T. Page Tharp Governmental Building
102 Starksville Avenue North
Leesburg, Georgia 31763

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm