The Planning & Zoning Department is responsible for developing and administering all facets of land use and quality of life regulations in both the unincorporated and incorporated areas of the county.

This department serves as the first point of contact for residents and developers seeking assistance with land subdivision and the zoning process.

In addition, this department advises and assists the county-wide Planning Commission, the Board of County Commissioners, and the Leesburg and Smithville city councils with decisions relating to growth management issues, subdivision review and approval, site planning, and amendments to or variances from the following ordinances: Zoning, Subdivision, Land Development, Manufactured Home, Nuisance Control, Noise Abatement, and Animal Control.

This department is also responsible for a variety of special projects ranging from writing grants to drainage studies to transportation analysis. The Planning Department also generates revenue from numerous permit fees.

Applications are due by the 10th day of each month or next business day.
Forms & Applications

Planning Commission
GIS Maps
Stormwater Management Department

Sign Permit Application

Planning & Development Permit Fees
Planning Commission Meeting Schedule

Lee County Code of Ordinances, Chapter 70 - Zoning on

Comprehensive Plan

The comprehensive plan is a long-range (15-20 year) statement of a community’s vision for development (and redevelopment). By addressing the entire physical environment of the county and the multitudes of functions, policies, and programs that comprise their day to day workings, the plan seeks to guide the what, when, where, why and how of future physical changes to the landscape of Lee County and its municipalities.

The purpose of a comprehensive plan is to provide a guide for local government officials and other community leaders for making everyday decisions that are supportive of the community’s stated goals for its future. The plan should serve as the local government’s guide for assessing development proposals, including rezoning applications and redevelopment plans. For residents, business owners and members of the development community, the plan provides insight into what types of land uses and development are appropriate at various locations throughout the city. Finally, evaluating various local government functions and services, the plan is a point of reference for government staff in preparing capital improvements programs and associated budgets.

Lee County Comprehensive Plan 2019

Chapter 18, Article II. – Construction Codes, Sec. 18-31. – Adoption by reference

(A) The following technical building and construction codes, as now or hereafter amended, including the administration and appendices chapters also contained in such codes, are hereby adopted by reference and shall be amended by later additions as required by O.C.G.A. § 8-2-25:
  (1) International Building Code (ICC);
  (2) National Electric Code (NFPA);
  (3) International Fuel Gas Code (ICC);
  (4) International Mechanical Code (ICC);
  (5) International Plumbing Code (ICC);
  (6) International Residential Code for 1- and 2-Family Dwellings (ICC);
  (7) International Energy Conservation Code (ICC);
  (8) International Fire Code (ICC).
(B) In accord with the provisions of O.C.G.A. §§ 8-2-20 and 8-2-25, the above listed codes have been in effect in the unincorporated area of the county since July 1, 2004.
(C) Official copies of such codes, and the administrative and appendices chapters of such codes, are on file in the office of the chief building official.
(Ord. 15-002, 4-28-2015)

Editor's Note — Ord. No. 15-002 , adopted Apr. 28, 2015, repealed the former section and enacted a new section as set out herein. The former section pertained to similar subject matter.

Contact Information

Randy Weathersby
GIS Coordinator

Phone: (229) 759-6000

T. Page Tharp Governmental Building
102 Starksville Avenue North
Leesburg, Georgia 31763

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm

View Lee County's Code of Ordinances Online
View Lee County's Code of Ordinances online

Get Adobe Reader